Daytona 500 Live Stream 2017: How to Watch Online

2017 Daytona 500 qualifying: Time, TV Schedule And Live Stream

The Daytona 500 Live not only heralds the opening the NASCAR season for 2017, but it also ushers in a new era of qualifying with a 40-car field.Rather than the 43-car fields of the past, 36 Sprint Cup teams possess a charter that guarantees a spot in the field, and there will be four open positions for unchartered teams to fill. That format will carry through the entire 2016 season, but the Daytona 500 qualifying is a little different in that it only determines the front row of the field.


How to Watch


For teams that don’t earn the top two spots in qualifying, the finishing order will determine where they start in Sprint Cup Can-Am Duels on Thursday, which will set the starting order for the remainder of the field.Unchartered teams will have even more pressure during qualifying on Sunday, with spots in the Daytona 500 field on the line. The top two unchartered finishers in the Can-Am Duels will get a spot in the 40-car field, and the other two open spots will go to the next two unchartered teams that finished best in qualifying.If you’re looking for an unchartered team to watch, the Wood Brothers’ No. 21 car, driven by Ryan Blaney, is one to keep an eye on. Although long a part of NASCAR history, the Wood Brothers failed to earn one of the initial 36 charters after running only partial seasons in the past three years.

The Great American Race is scheduled to start at about 1 p.m. ET and will be broadcast on FOX. If you can’t get to a TV, here’s a rundown of how to watch a live stream online or on mobile:

Watch 59th Daytona 500 Live Online

If you have access to a cable subscription, you can watch the race online for free through Fox Sports GO. You’ll need the log-in and password for a cable subscription — either yours or someone else’s — to access the stream. Frequently asked questions about Fox Sports GO can be found here.

Chase Elliott already has made history as the youngest driver to capture the pole for the Daytona 500, and he won the warmup race.Now, can the Rookie of the Year candidate, win the actual Daytona 500?Elliott won the Xfinity Series season opener at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday, edging Joey Logano for his first victory at NASCAR’s most famous track.It was the perfect prelude to the Daytona 2017 Live on Sunday. Elliott will start that one on the pole — and with a lot tougher competition chasing him.

“It means a lot, man,” Elliott said. “This is Daytona. I’m just happy to be here. We still have 500 miles to go tomorrow. Lot of work to do here.”

Elliott took the lead from Logano on a final restart with 13 laps to go and then blocked his fellow Sprint Cup regular on the last lap. Logano got a strong run on the outside a few hundred feet from the finish line and then banged the side of Elliott’s No. 88 Chevrolet several times, but he couldn’t get past.”Chase obviously did what he had to do there at the end of the race,” said JR Motorsports owner Dale Earnhardt Jr., who has Elliott signed on for a handful of Xfinity races this season. “I thought that was very gutsy to be able to really put such an aggressive block on (Logano). He did what he had to do. Could have turned him into the wall. Joey might have saved both of them from doing all that.”Elliott became the youngest to win at Daytona in the Xfinity Series, getting to victory lane at 20 years, 2 months, 23 days.

The anticipation is building for racing fans as the Great American Race draws near. The green flag for the 59th annual Daytona 500 will drop at 1 p.m. EST on Sunday, while the pre-race show will kick things off at noon. You can also watch the Great American Race on the Fox Sports Go app, or online at Sitting on the pole is rookie driver Chase Elliott, son of NASCAR legend Bill Elliott. Not only is Chase the youngest pole sitter in Daytona 500 history, he is taking the ride of future NASCAR Hall of Famer Jeff Gordon.

Matt Kenseth, who was the second-fastest qualifier, will have to drop to the back of the field after wrecking his primary car during the second race of the Can-Am duels. Joining him in the back of the pack will be two-time Daytona 500 winner Jimmie Johnson, Martin Truex Jr. and AJ Allmendinger, who were also involved in the wreck.Award-winning country music duo Florida Georgia Line will help kick things off in the pre-race show, while the 82nd Airborne Division Chorus will perform the National Anthem.WWE superstar John Cena will be the honorary pace car driver for Sunday’s race, and newly elected Baseball Hall of Fame center-fielder Ken Griffey Jr. will serve as the honorary starter.Recently crowned seven-time NASCAR premier series champion Jimmie Johnson will join a star-studded elite field as NASCAR kicks off its 2017 season with The Clash at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017.

The annual season-opening event will be broadcast live on FS1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio. The 75-lap race again will be split into two segments with a competition caution at Lap 25 separating the segments.”What better way to kick off the 2017 season than the sport’s brightest stars under the lights at Daytona International Speedway,” said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR executive vice president and chief racing development officer. “Coming off a thrilling season finale at Homestead-Miami, we’re looking forward to continuing that momentum into Daytona. With bragging rights and no points on the line, The Clash will set the tone for what should be a season full of great racing and tough competition.”

“We’re bringing back The Clash at Daytona,” said Chip Wile, Daytona International Speedway president. “The Clash was a race name that has always been popular among both the competitors and race fans. We’re looking forward to bringing it back and building on the rich history of this thrilling and always unpredictable event that kicks off the NASCAR season.”The eligible drivers include 2016 Coors Light Pole Award winners, former Clash race winners and former Daytona 500 Live Stream pole winners who competed full-time in 2016. All 16 drivers from the 2016 Chase are also eligible.